This iconic Putnam County home, built circa 1856, was recently restored. It remains in the family and the owners have done a wonderful job. Thanks to Anna O’Neal for the identification.
Margaret Gorley Ehrlich writes: The house was built for Allen Beall’s family. He was a large property owner and farmer. There was originally a Barn, a Hay barn, a Blacksmith Shop, Chicken Pen, a garage, and several other buildings on the property that were destroyed by tornadoes in the area. Many trees were also lost such as a pear tree, walnut tree, pecan trees, and apple trees. Allen Beall died in 1861 leaving his widow Caroline with eight children and a plantation to run. Less than a mile from the house are the remains of a grist mill that is marked with a Georgia Historical Society marker (Mrs. Beall’s Mill).