Tag Archives: Georgia Courthouses

Henry County Courthouse, 1897, McDonough

Golucke & Stewart designed this courthouse in the Richardsonian Romanesque style, which they also employed in the plans of the Schley, Union, and Madison county courthouses. Though its appearance has been altered by expansions over the years, it remains a focal point of downtown McDonough.

National Register of Historic Places

Clayton County Courthouse, 1899, Jonesboro

The third Clayton County Courthouse served the community for a century. Designed by the firm of Golucke & Stewart, it was replaced by a modern facility in 1999.

Jonesboro Historic District, National Register of Historic Places

Clayton County Courthouse, 1869, Jonesboro

This structure replaced the original Clayton County Courthouse, built on this site in 1860 and burned during the Battle of Jonesboro. It was decommissioned in 1898 and has served as the Jonesboro Lodge No. 87 F & AM ever since.

Jonesboro Historic District, National Register of Historic Places

Newton County Courthouse, 1884, Covington

The handsome Second Empire Newton County Courthouse in Covington is Georgia’s most recognizable, from its appearance in numerous television series and films. Designed by the venerable firm of Bruce and Morgan, it was an ambitious structure for its time, reflecting the prosperity of the county it represented. Most people will recognize it from the hit television series, In the Heat of the Night, which filmed in Covington for much of its run. It was also used as the Hazzard County Courthouse on the first five episodes of The Dukes of Hazzard.

National Register of Historic Places

Bartow County Courthouse, 1902, Cartersville

This courthouse replaced an 1869 courthouse [still standing] and was designed by Georgia’s most prolific courthouse architect, J. W. Golucke.

National Register of Historic Places

Militia District #851 Courthouse, 1890s, Euharlee

Euharlee was a part of Militia District #851, and this historic courthouse was the de facto center of justice in the rural community. It was nicely restored after years of neglect.

Harris County Courthouse, 1908, Hamilton

The architect of this courthouse, Edward Columbus Hosford, was a native of Eastman. He designed numerous courthouses and public buildings in Florida, as well as the Dodge County courthouse in his hometown. He was also responsible for the major renovations done to the Bulloch County Courthouse in Statesboro.

National Register of Historic Places

Brantley County Courthouse, 1930, Nahunta

When Brantley County was created in 1920, Hoboken was chosen as the seat of government. After two contested elections voters chose Nahunta to be the new county seat and it was officially recognized as such in 1923. Since this structure, designed by Waycross architect Thomas Jefferson Darling (1868-1943), wasn’t completed until 1930, I presume the courthouse in Hoboken remained in use during the interim.

National Register of Historic Places


Barrow County Courthouse, 1920, Winder

J. J. Baldwin designed the Barrow County Courthouse in the most typical fashion for Georgia courthouses of the era: Neoclassical with a clock tower. While the county has long since outgrown the facility, it is still home to multiple government offices.

National Register of Historic Places

Franklin County Courthouse, 1906, Carnesville

This is one of two courthouses in Georgia designed by the Knoxville, Tennessee, architectural firm of W. Chamberlain & Company. The other is in Berrien County.  Franklin County was one of the first counties created in Georgia after the Revolutionary War, dating to 1784. Carnesville has been the county seat since 1806.

National Register of Historic Places