Tag Archives: Georgia Courthouses

Militia District #851 Courthouse, 1890s, Euharlee

Euharlee was a part of Militia District #851, and this historic courthouse was the de facto center of justice in the rural community. It was nicely restored after years of neglect.


Harris County Courthouse, 1908, Hamilton

The architect of this courthouse, Edward Columbus Hosford, was a native of Eastman. He designed numerous courthouses and public buildings in Florida, as well as the Dodge County courthouse in his hometown. He was also responsible for the major renovations done to the Bulloch County Courthouse in Statesboro.

National Register of Historic Places

Brantley County Courthouse, 1930, Nahunta

When Brantley County was created in 1920, Hoboken was chosen as the seat of government. After two contested elections voters chose Nahunta to be the new county seat and it was officially recognized as such in 1923. Since this structure, designed by Waycross architect Thomas Jefferson Darling (1868-1943), wasn’t completed until 1930, I presume the courthouse in Hoboken remained in use during the interim.

National Register of Historic Places


Barrow County Courthouse, 1920, Winder

J. J. Baldwin designed the Barrow County Courthouse in the most typical fashion for Georgia courthouses of the era: Neoclassical with a clock tower. While the county has long since outgrown the facility, it is still home to multiple government offices.

National Register of Historic Places

Franklin County Courthouse, 1906, Carnesville

This is one of two courthouses in Georgia designed by the Knoxville, Tennessee, architectural firm of W. Chamberlain & Company. The other is in Berrien County.  Franklin County was one of the first counties created in Georgia after the Revolutionary War, dating to 1784. Carnesville has been the county seat since 1806.

National Register of Historic Places

Glynn County Courthouse, 1907, Brunswick

Set among a grove of live oaks, the old Glynn County Courthouse was designed by well-known architect Charles Alling Gifford (1860-1937). The location is Magnolia Square, one of the historic lots set aside for housing livestock as a community pasture. Though now replaced by a modern courthouse on an adjacent street, this landmark still serves government purposes.

Brunswick Old Town Historic District, National Register of Historic Places

Murray County Courthouse, 1917, Chatsworth

Begun in 1916 and occupied in 1917, the Chatsworth courthouse remains the only such facility built after the removal of the county seat from Spring Place in 1913.

National Register of Historic Places

Clinch County Courthouse, 1896, Homerville

National Register of Historic Places


Wells-McAllister House, Circa 1880, Fort Gaines

Built for attorney John C. Wells, this home was purchased by Robert C. McAllister as a gift for his wife in 1897. The kitchen of the house was the first Clay County courthouse until the present courthouse was built. It was used as a school until being purchased by Wells and attached to this house.

Fort Gaines Historic District, National Register of Historic Places

Bryan County Courthouse, 1938, Pembroke

Pembroke is one of the newest county seats in Georgia, having been chosen for this distinction when the construction of Fort Stewart cut off the previous county seat, Clyde, from public access. Though it has not been formally documented, the courthouse, designed by Savannah architect Walter P. Marshall, was likely funded by the Department of Defense.

National Register of Historic Places