Tag Archives: Georgia Firehouses & Towers

Old Engine Company No. 7, 1914, Augusta

Old Engine Company No. 7 was the first fire house in Augusta to utilize motorized fire trucks. The Spanish Colonial Revival structure was designed by Augusta architect Thomas Campbell. It served as a firehouse until 2003 and is still used for training and storage.

Summerville Historic District, National Register of Historic Places

Colbert Volunteer Fire Department

The old Colbert Fire House is now home to the Colbert Volunteer Fire Department, which was established in 1968.

Colbert Historic District, National Register of Historic Places

Old City Hall & Firehouse, 1914, Bainbridge

This Spanish Colonial Revival landmark was designed by William Augustus Edwards as a combination City Hall and Firehouse, and over the years has also served as the library and public safety center. It is now known as the Firehouse Center & Gallery and is home to the Decatur County Council for the Arts, featuring gallery and event space.

Bainbridge Commercial Historic District, National Register of Historic Places

Chenocetah Mountain Fire Tower, 1937, Cornelia

This fire tower was built atop Chenocetah Mountain (1830′) by the WPA Resettlement Administration for use by rangers in the Chattahoochee National Forest. The 54′ granite tower was dedicated on 7 June 1938. Later, a plaque was added to the tower in memory of three forest workers who died in World War II: William A. Crossland, Robert C. Fuller, and Edward W. Simpson. Use of the tower was discontinued in 1975 and its fate was unsure, but the Georgia Forest Service began restaffing it during fire season in 1989. It is a favorite landmark of travelers to Habersham County.

National Register of Historic Places

CCC Fire Tower, 1935, Fort Mountain

In 2014-2015, the iconic stone fire lookout tower constructed by the Civilian Conservation Corps camp 468 (SP-6) was restored by the state as part of the interpretive plan at Fort Mountain State Park. The tower was used until the early 1960s when it was replaced by a steel tower on a nearby mountain. In 1971, the cupola burned and the tower fell into disrepair.

National Register of Historic Places

Fire House, 1884, & Masonic Lodge, 1895, Darien

Best known as City Hall today, this was originally built as a single-story engine house for the Board of Fire Commissioners in 1884. A second floor was added in 1895 for use by the McIntosh Dragoons and the Masons. Remodeled as a service center by Mrs. Talbot Smith in 1944, it was home to the USO during World War II. Since then it has been used by the police and fire departments and the second floor was used as the public library until the construction of a more modern facility on U. S. 17.

Vernon Square-Columbus Square Historic District, National Register of Historic Places

Fire Station, Donalsonville

The large red building has served as the Donalsonville fire station for many years, but I believe it will soon be relocated. The structure was built for the Chero-Cola Bottling Works and also housed City Hall for a time.

Donalsonville Historic District, National Register of Historic Places

Fire Tower, Clay County

Though you may see them from time to time, Georgia’s iconic fire towers are actually quite endangered. In the late 1980s, the Georgia Forestry Commission began phasing out the tower operators in favor of an air patrol system. Many were scrapped and sold and of the ones that remain, some are used when air service is unavailable.

Old City Hall & Fire Station, 1910, Griffin

Griffin’s old combination city hall and fire department is presently being restored.

Griffin Commercial Historic District, National Register of Historic Places